Nigeria: My frustrations and contributions

I am appalled by the recent happenings that have been occurring in Nigeria. Usually, I would ignore them and move on with my life, but I have decided to start voicing out my frustrations, because I am a Nigerian and it concerns me. I am a proud Nigerian, but I am fed up with some people and activities that constitute the country.

The terror menace of Boko Haram in the some north-eastern states of Nigeria, several inefficient and lackadaisical government parastatals, the recent outbreak of meningitis in several northern states, an unwell President, an unstable economy, several nonchalant leaders and citizens, etc., are among the problems Nigeria is currently battling. Some would have been prevented or effectively controlled, if only the means were made available, and used effectively or not hindered by selfish reasons.

As the so-called Giant of Africa, we still battle with setting priorities right, unhealthy policies, interrupted power and water supply, several bad roads, dilapidated hospitals, and governmental offices in several states, and there is no hope is sight. All we do is pray until something changes. Several people live in fear, some are battling with starvation, suicide is a bit on the rise, and still there has been no hope for things to get better.

I can relate to the fact that most Nigerians share common traits known to us, which hinder progress and growth in our endeavours. Included are, being stuck up in religion and superstitions, having only one-sided views, absence of logical reasoning, strong focus on the past and present, forgetting the future, etc. Being away from Nigeria has been an extreme eye-opening experience for me, as I have learnt to view, express and analyse things in several perspectives. Gaining diverse experiences or knowledge via different methods, which could be useful to help the current situation, has been my main focus. One man’s effort is never enough, but it is a start.

Kudos to several Nigerians who voice out their frustrations via different channels and methods regularly. Charity begins at home, but communication is an essential part of propelling some changes in Nigeria. Lastly, everyone should do their part to make Nigeria better than its current situation, no matter how intangible or irrelevant it may seem.

Janet Oyeleye

Featured Image by Uche Anichebe via Bella Naija

Author: oyetolani

An indisputable fact is that I love writing, among other things that I love to do. Some consider me to be really nice and caring, while others think I am snub. I am actually mix of both, just saying. I do not want to be perceived as a narcissist so I hereby stop here.

Leave a Reply

