5 Reasons Why You Should Watch Skinny Girl In Transit

While watching my beloved Korean drama, Doctors, a friend of mine called to inform me about this new series called “Skinny Girl In Transit“. I asked her if it was a Korean drama (do not mind my compulsion of Korean dramas), she replied, “definitely not!” So anyway I brushed it off and continued what I was watching. I had already forgotten she told me to watch a series of some sort.

Fast forward to a few hours later. She came into my room, hijacked my computer system, went on Youtube and searched for the series. Lo and Behold it was a Nigerian series. I was a bit skeptical at first, but decided to give it the benefit of a doubt. After the first three episodes, it looked promising. Six episodes into the series I was really impressed at such originality and performance a Nigerian series could deliver. So, here are my reasons why you need to watch it.

1. The portrayal of a typical Nigerian family life

Part of the cast members consisting of the main lead’s parents & sibling brilliantly portrayed the typical lifestyle of a Nigerian family. Mannerisms of the parents, and attitudes of their children. It gives you an idea of what goes on in a Nigerian family, how issues arise and get solved. Portrayal of love, oneness, discipline, etc., it was a job well done.

2. The originality and talent of the cast members

See original image

THEY ARE TALENTED! I felt they weren’t acting. It was like their real lives being aired online without their knowledge. I could easily connect to it, due to some common affirmations. They did not try so hard to depict their characters, which was done well. It showed how good they were at what they do.

3. You can easily relate to it

See original image

The struggle to exercise is REAL, even for me *sighs*. Apart from that, it depicts the day to day life of a Nigerian lady. Her family, friends, work colleagues, boyfriends, etc., it shows how she balances them all appropriately. I could easily relate to it because it is roughly how my life is. I am almost certain that most ladies would also find it similar to theirs too.

4. The woman who portrayed the main lead’s mother, she’s to die for

Mother

You just have to love her. Her sarcasms are mind-blowing. She is sort of like my mom in so many ways. I think my mom has to watch this to meet her carbon copy. Messed up pronunciations (done on purpose), insults so hard and ends up coercing you to forget she ever did, would not hesitate to scold you in front of people, would pray for you, care and love you wholeheartedly. Only a Nigerian mother would go into your room, wake you up at 5:30 am, and start narrating her encounter with the Holy Spirit; force you to listen and agree with her. If you prove stubborn she plays the “After all I have done for you card, with a little of fake tears”. I LOVE MY MOM!

5. Broken Fourth Wall

See original image

Though the transition was not perfectly done, it was a nice one. She broke the fourth wall by conveying her thoughts, which was a good way to do so. It was not just her recorded background voice playing, and her staring at the ceiling, thinking. Efforts to break the fourth wall were well done by her.

Other reasons include how the series story-line is not dragged, does not follow the typical trend of most Nigerian series, typical Nigerian remarks made etc. I would highly recommend this series to anyone at any point in time because it is a well played, directed and produced one.

Oyetolani

 

[Image Credit: [Bella Naija – MotherFourth WallCast members], [AFRORICHE – Family], [GTCREA8 – Bridge], Skinny Girl in Transit]
Author: oyetolani

An indisputable fact is that I love writing, among other things that I love to do. Some consider me to be really nice and caring, while others think I am snub. I am actually mix of both, just saying. I do not want to be perceived as a narcissist so I hereby stop here.

Leave a Reply

